Friday, January 28, 2011

Epic Fail...

Day 7: Second day in Barcelona

We woke up semi-early this morning to meet the group for breakfast. Olivia, Lauren and myself had plans to shop all day, so we were in a super big hurry to get going in the morning. After we ate with the group, I went back to my room to take a nap/go back to bed for a bit. We literally had all day to ourselves, so we weren't rushed in any way.

The girls and I ended up leaving the hotel around 1 or so to head downtown. We still had 8 hours to shop, which was PLENTY of time. After taking the Metro, my worst nightmare came true. We went to the first store and saw that it was closed. We went to the next and saw it was closed. This continued for over two blocks. I just had a feeling that the day wasn't going to go as planned. It turns out that on Sundays, all stores are CLOSED. I have never been so pissed in my entire life. I had saved all of my important shopping for today. For example, I was going to go to the Gucci or Chanel store and make a splurge. The one thing I wanted to get on this trip for myself was a really nice purse. Not the kind you get in the mall. The kind you only dream about buying because they are so expensive. Yes, I was planning on wasting a bunch of money on one measly purse. Don't judge! Haha.

After such a disappointing discovery, we really didn't have any motivation to do anything. We went down to this area where a few small gift shops were and watched some street performers do some dancing/gymnastic type stuff. Even though this was entertaining, my spirits were running low. I literally could not get over this tramatic shopping experience or lack there of.

We decided to get gilato and head back to the hotel for another nap. I forgot to mention, I woke up with a sore throat this morning and was starting to not feel the greatest. Maybe it is the weather change? Anyway, I got some amazing raspberry gilato and got back on the Metro.

Back at the hotel, I set my alarm and gave myself a few hours to rest up and hopefully get rid of this sore throat. After waking up, I realized the next worst thing was about to happen. I could feel myself getting sick. In fact, I thought I might be starting to get a fever. Why a fever? Well, after my nap I realized that the window in our room had been open since we arrived the day before. Lucky me got to sleep right next to it on the cot and probably got sick from that. I really didn't notice it being open, which makes me feel like a total idiot!!

A large part of the group went to the futbol (soccer) game. I decided not to go because I knew it would be outside and would risk getting even more sick. A few of us grabbed a bite to eat down in the hotel restaurant. This is when I really knew I was getting sick. I ordered chicken nuggets and fries (about as American as you can get) and couldn't even eat them. I took one bite and that was about one bite too much.

I ended going back up to the room and going to be early in hopes of waking up in mint condition. Before going back to bed, we made a stop at the roof to take a few pictures and to see the city from 12 (or maybe it was 10) stories high. It was spectacular!

Off to bed...not the greatest day, but still wonderful just because it was spent in Barcelona.

No comments:

Post a Comment